The short answer
- 69 of 69traditional saunas need a hardwired 240V circuit of their own
- 56%of infrared cabins run on 120V (30 of 54); 23 of those want an outlet on its own circuit
- 24infrared cabins need 240V, through a plug rather than hardwiring
- 4blankets and domes plug into a household outlet
Traditional saunas heat stones with a 6 to 10.5kW heater, which only a 240V circuit can feed. Infrared cabins draw far less, so many plug into a 120V outlet, but the bigger ones move to 240V. Whichever you want, the question for your electrician is the same: is there room in the panel for one more circuit of this size, and how far is the run?
Figures are as each brand publishes them, checked October 2026. Where a brand does not state a breaker size we say so instead of guessing. Your heater's installation manual and local code always override this page.
Circuits at a glance
How many of the 127 models we track need each kind of circuit.
| Circuit the brand asks for | Traditional | Infrared cabins | Blankets, domes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 120V (amps not stated) household outlet | – | – | 4 |
| 120V 15A household outlet | – | 5 | – |
| 120V 15A outlet on its own circuit | – | 2 | – |
| 120V 20A household outlet | – | 2 | – |
| 120V 20A outlet on its own circuit | – | 20 | – |
| 120V 30A outlet on its own circuit | – | 1 | – |
| 240V (amps not stated) hardwired | 14 | – | – |
| 240V 15A household outlet | – | 3 | – |
| 240V 15A outlet on its own circuit | – | 1 | – |
| 240V 20A household outlet | – | 3 | – |
| 240V 20A outlet on its own circuit | – | 12 | – |
| 240V 30A hardwired | 30 | – | – |
| 240V 30A outlet on its own circuit | – | 5 | – |
| 240V 40A hardwired | 23 | – | – |
| 240V 45A hardwired | 1 | – | – |
| 240V 50A hardwired | 1 | – | – |
Traditional saunas: 240V, hardwired, its own breaker
All 69 traditional saunas in our data use an electric heater wired straight into a dedicated 240V circuit; none plug in. 55 state the breaker size:
- 30A: 30 models
- 40A: 23 models
- 45A: 1 model
- 50A: 1 model
Bigger heater, bigger breaker. Where the brand gives one heater size and one breaker size, the pairs are:
| Heater | Breaker | Models |
|---|---|---|
| 6 kW | 30A, 240V | 26 |
| 7.5 kW | 40A, 240V | 1 |
| 8 kW | 40A, 240V | 13 |
| 9 kW | 40A, 240V | 1 |
| 9 kW | 45A, 240V | 1 |
| 9 kW | 50A, 240V | 1 |
Where one heater size shows more than one breaker, the brands differ; go by the figure in your heater's manual. 14 traditional models, mostly larger saunas with 9 to 10.5kW heaters or a choice of heater sizes, give no breaker figure on the product page; it is in the heater manual. A bigger heater needs a bigger circuit and heavier wire, so choose the heater before the electrician quotes. Wood-burning heaters, offered on some outdoor models, need no circuit at all. See how heater sizing works.
Infrared saunas: check the plug before you order
The infrared cabins in our data are rated at 1.4 to 7.2kW. 30 of 54 run on 120V, and 23 of those ask for an outlet on its own circuit, usually 20A. The other 24 need 240V; they come with a plug, so you need a matching 240V receptacle installed near the cabin. The plugs the brands name:
- NEMA 5-20P: 15 models (120V)
- NEMA 6-20P: 13 models (240V)
- NEMA 5-15P: 7 models (120V)
- NEMA L6-30P: 4 models (240V, locking twist plug)
- NEMA 6-15P: 4 models (240V)
- NEMA L6-20P: 2 models (240V, locking twist plug)
- NEMA L5-30P: 1 model (120V, locking twist plug)
- NEMA 6-30P: 1 model (240V)
Two cabins that look alike can differ: the same brand may sell a 2-person model on 120V and its 3-person sibling on 240V. Check the power line in the table below for the exact model, and see infrared vs traditional for how the heat differs.
What it costs to run
Pick a model or enter a wattage, then your own habits and rate. The result assumes the sauna draws its full rating the whole time, so it is a ceiling: a heater cycles on and off once the room reaches temperature.
Default rate: U.S. average residential price for July 2026, 18.31¢/kWh, from the EIA Electric Power Monthly. Your bill shows your own rate, which can be much higher or lower.
Every model's power needs
All 127 models, smallest circuit first. Filter by what your house can supply.
| Model | Type | Supply | Breaker | Connection | Rated draw |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClearlightPremier IS-1 (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,370W |
| ClearlightPremier IS-2 (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,720W |
| ClearlightSanctuary 1 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,740W |
| Peak SaunasCrown 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), own circuit | 1,800W |
| Peak SaunasMini 1-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), own circuit | 1,500W |
| Peak SaunasRainier 1-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,800W |
| Peak SaunasShasta 1-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,800W |
| Almost HeavenElysian 2 Person Full-Spectrum (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| Almost HeavenElysian 3 Person Full-Spectrum (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| Almost HeavenHarmony 2 Person Infrared (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| Almost HeavenHarmony 3 Person Infrared (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| Almost HeavenHinton 2-3 Person Infrared (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| Almost HeavenLaurel 1 Person Infrared (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | Not stated |
| ClearlightPremier IS-3 (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), household outlet | 2,050W |
| ClearlightSanctuary 2 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), household outlet | 2,260W |
| HigherDOSEFull Spectrum Infrared Sauna, 2 Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,250W |
| Peak SaunasEverest 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,050W |
| Peak SaunasFuji 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,050W |
| Sun Home SaunasEquinox 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 1,880W |
| Sun Home SaunasEquinox 3-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,250W |
| Sun Home SaunasPod 1-Person (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug, own circuit | 1,710W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolstice 1-Person (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 1,350W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolstice 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,006W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolstice 3-Person (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,250W |
| SunlightenAmplify II (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,270W |
| SunlightenmPulse Aspire (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,160W |
| SunlightenmPulse Believe (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,400W |
| SunlightenSignature I (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 1,350W |
| SunlightenSignature II (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 120V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 5-20P), own circuit | 2,006W |
| Sun Home SaunasEclipse 2-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 120V | 30A | Plug (NEMA L5-30P), own circuit | 2,820W |
| ClearlightThe Curve Sauna Dome (opens in a new tab) | Infrared dome indoor | 120V | Not stated | Plug, household outlet | 1,000W |
| HigherDOSEInfrared Sauna Blanket (opens in a new tab) | Sauna blanket indoor | 120V | Not stated | Plug, household outlet | 420W |
| Sun Home SaunasInfrared Sauna Blanket (opens in a new tab) | Sauna blanket indoor | 120V | Not stated | Plug, household outlet | Not stated |
| SunlightenSolo System (opens in a new tab) | Infrared dome indoor | 120V | Not stated | Plug (NEMA 5-15P), household outlet | 1,560W |
| ClearlightSanctuary 3 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 6-15P), household outlet | 2,680W |
| ClearlightSanctuary C (corner) (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 6-15P), household outlet | 3,330W |
| ClearlightSanctuary Outdoor 2 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 6-15P), household outlet | 2,320W |
| HigherDOSEFull Spectrum Infrared Sauna, 3 Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 15A | Plug (NEMA 6-15P), own circuit | 2,930W |
| ClearlightSanctuary 5 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), household outlet | 3,860W |
| ClearlightSanctuary Outdoor 5 (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), household outlet | 3,600W |
| ClearlightSanctuary Retreat (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), household outlet | 3,570W |
| Peak SaunasDenali 3-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 2,850W |
| Peak SaunasMatterhorn 3-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 2,850W |
| Peak SaunasPatagonia 2-Person Outdoor (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA L6-20P), own circuit | 3,350W |
| Sun Home SaunasLuminar 2-Person Outdoor (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA L6-20P), own circuit | 4,800W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolstice 4-Person (opens in a new tab) | Infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 2,750W |
| SunlightenAmplify III (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 3,280W |
| SunlightenAmplify IV (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 3,900W |
| SunlightenAmplify RED II (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 2,620W |
| SunlightenAmplify RED III (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 3,465W |
| SunlightenAmplify RED IV (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 4,140W |
| SunlightenmPulse Conquer (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 3,600W |
| SunlightenmPulse Discover (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 20A | Plug (NEMA 6-20P), own circuit | 4,500W |
| Almost HeavenAudra 2-4 Person Canopy Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenBlackwater 1-2 Person Mini-Cube (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenCharleston 4 Person Canopy Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W 30A (6kW) or 40A (8kW) |
| Almost HeavenGrayson 4 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W 30A (6kW) or 40A (8kW) |
| Almost HeavenHillsboro 2 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenHuntington 4-6 Person Canopy Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W 30A (6kW) or 40A (8kW) |
| Almost HeavenLogan 1 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenMadison 2-3 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenPinnacle 4 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenRainelle 4 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W 30A (6kW) or 40A (8kW) |
| Almost HeavenSalem 2 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenSerena 3 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenSpectacle 2 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenSutton 2 Person Corner Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenVienna 2 Person Canopy Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenWatoga 2-4 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Peak SaunasEl Capitan 4-Person Outdoor (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 30A | Plug (NEMA L6-30P), own circuit | 5,300W |
| Peak SaunasKilimanjaro 5-Person Outdoor (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 30A | Plug (NEMA L6-30P), own circuit | 4,850W |
| Redwood OutdoorsAlcove Indoor 2 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsBarrel Outdoor 6 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsBarrel with Porch 6 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsCabin Outdoor 4 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsCove Outdoor 3 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsDuo Outdoor 2 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsExtra-Wide Barrel 6 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsHaven Indoor 3 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsHorizon Outdoor 6 Person with Porch (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsRetreat Indoor 4 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsSummit Outdoor 6 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsVista Outdoor 6 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Sun Home SaunasEclipse 4-Person (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 30A | Plug (NEMA L6-30P), own circuit | 5,300W |
| Sun Home SaunasLuminar 5-Person Outdoor (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared outdoor | 240V | 30A | Plug (NEMA L6-30P), own circuit | 7,200W |
| Sun Home SaunasNova 3-Person Traditional (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolaris 4-Person Outdoor Traditional (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 30A | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| SunlightenmPulse Empower (opens in a new tab) | Full-spectrum infrared indoor | 240V | 30A | Plug (NEMA 6-30P), own circuit | 5,580W |
| Almost HeavenAllegheny 6 Person Cabin (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A to 50A depending on heater; none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenAppalachia 6 Person Cabin (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A to 50A depending on heater; none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenBridgeport 6 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenEssex 4 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenEvander Half-Moon Canopy Barrel (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenGrandview 4-6 Person Canopy Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenKuuma Classic Barrel (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenLewisburg 6-8 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenMagnus 6 Person Canopy Barrel (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenOasis 4 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenPatterson 6 Person Corner Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenPrinceton 6 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenSeneca 6 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenShenandoah 4 Person Barrel (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenSolide Compact 4-6 Person Cabin (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenTakoa Half Moon Barrel (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Almost HeavenTitan 6 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W 40A (8kW) or 45A (9kW) |
| Almost HeavenWorthington 4-6 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsBarrel Outdoor 8 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsGarden Outdoor 8 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Redwood OutdoorsNoctra Outdoor 8 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Sun Home SaunasNova 6-Person Traditional (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 7,500W |
| Sun Home SaunasSolaris 6-Person Outdoor Traditional (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 40A | Hardwired | 9,000W |
| Almost HeavenBlackwater 4 Person Cube (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 45A | Hardwired | 9,000W 45A (9kW); none for wood-fired |
| Redwood OutdoorsGrove Outdoor 8 Person (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | 50A | Hardwired | 9,000W |
| Almost HeavenAlpina Large (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 10,500W |
| Almost HeavenAlpina Medium (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 10,500W |
| Almost HeavenEverwood Large (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenEverwood Small (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenHimalaya Salt Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenOlympus 6 Person Indoor (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 9,000W |
| Almost HeavenSaddle Mountain (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 10,500W |
| Almost HeavenTimberline Scala (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenTimberline Yukon (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 8,000W |
| Almost HeavenTyrol Large (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenTyrol Medium (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenView Outdoor Sauna (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional outdoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 10,500W |
| Almost HeavenWolfpine Large (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 6,000W |
| Almost HeavenWolfpine Small (Harvia Collection) (opens in a new tab) | Traditional indoor | 240V | Not stated | Hardwired | 6,000W |
Specs as each brand publishes them, checked October 2026. Breaker is the circuit rating for the base configuration; a larger heater option needs a larger circuit. Rated draw is the wattage the brand prints, or the heater's kW. Confirm with the installation manual before wiring.
Want models that also fit your space and group size? Take the sauna quiz.
Use this data
The full table is free to download as CSV (127 rows: brand, model, type, voltage, breaker, connection, plug, rated watts, seats, exterior size and the brand's product page). If you quote it, please link to this page as the source. We re-check the brands' spec sheets and update the date at the top when they change.
Frequently asked questions
What size breaker does a home sauna need?
It depends on the heater, so use the figure in the model's manual. In the 69 traditional saunas we track, brands that state a breaker list 30A, 40A, 45A, 50A, all on 240V; a 6kW heater is paired with a 30A circuit and an 8kW heater with 40A in every case where the brand gives both. Infrared cabins mostly need 15A or 20A, at 120V or 240V.
Can I plug a sauna into a regular outlet?
Traditional saunas, no: every one we track is hardwired to its own 240V circuit. Of the 54 infrared cabins, 30 run on 120V, but 23 of those still ask for an outlet on its own circuit. Sauna blankets and lie-down domes plug into a household outlet.
Does a sauna need a dedicated circuit?
Every traditional sauna and 41 of 54 infrared cabins in our data need one. A sauna draws close to its full rating for as long as it heats, so it should not share a circuit with other loads unless the brand says that is fine.
How much does a home sauna cost to run?
Multiply the rated draw in kW by the hours it runs and your price per kWh. At the July 2026 U.S. residential average of 18.31¢/kWh (EIA), a 6kW heater running at full power for one hour costs about $1.10. Real use is lower, because a heater cycles off once the room is hot. Use the calculator on this page with your own rate.
Do I need an electrician to install a sauna?
For any hardwired heater or new circuit, yes, and often a permit as well. The brand's installation manual sets the wire size and breaker, and local code can add requirements such as GFCI protection or an outdoor-rated disconnect.